First Painting

“You  have a gift to paint with words.”

My dad said that to me and I wanted to see if I agreed, so I’m starting this blog. I’m going to pursue a talent and work hard at things I think I want to do. That’s where the title of this blog comes from.

If Bob Ross painted because he just loved to and wanted to share that love with other people, then I want to do the same but with words. So feel free to come read this whenever. I will try to always be honest in my postings, or share things I think are worth sharing.

It’s gonna get messy, but I think that’s alright.

I’ll probably do this once a week and if I’m not consistent with it, forgive me. I’m fickle.

I guess it wouldn’t be a bad idea to describe myself a little bit, right?

My name’s Dillon. I’m 24 and I graduated with a degree in Theater (more on that in a future post I’m sure) in spring of 2016. I’m an aspiring writer, actor, fitness enthusiast, comedian, improviser, carpenter, cook, etc. I come from an extremely conservative Christian background, and while I am deeply rooted in my faith and love of Christ, I often find that my views on the world tend to run far more…um…liberal than most of my family would agree with. To that point, family is very important to me (and yes, there will be posts about my family) and I have a very large family. I’ve known both grandparents and both sets of great-grandparents.

I’m an avid consumer of pop culture, a lover of comic books, film, literature, and television and I have no idea how to instagram or snapchat properly. I’m in a loving, committed relationship with a wonderful woman who gets and tolerates me and she’ll be making appearances off and on as will our colorful life. If you’ve read this and feel welcomed, good! Come back and join me as I write stuff down and suss things out. If you didn’t, that’s fine too. Find somewhere you do belong and build a home there.

Much love.

 

Leave a Reply

